03
Aug
12

Waiting for the World to Change

Stencil fun with sprayed and rollered paint and collage on w/c paper, 10 X 11″

waiting at the crossroads for the world to change
to be more civil
more evolutionary
and it’s a long wait
a warming wait of the global sort

B civil, meaning
oceans free of toxic messes
life breathing free
eating its fill but not over

i stand at the crossroads waiting
for me to change
a bit more each day, each moment
to be the civil engineer of being
an edifice of civility
each moment a crossed road

We explored all manner of stenciling in the Tuesday Muses this week.  I was using this honeycomb pattern, with layers and layers of sponging and spraying and rollering the paint on, using both sides of the stencil or positive and negative patterns.

When I finished, it suddenly reminded me of the Olympics logo and brought to mind the incivility of some team behavior there – not to mention comments by a certain American dignitary.  The art always speaks in its own voice.  I’m finding that world events are filtering into the art more and more lately, even as I strive for the kind of wisdom and understanding that does not point fingers at others.  I must first be my own engineer of civility.

4 Responses to “Waiting for the World to Change”


  1. August 6, 2012 at 10:51 am

    How interesting! I love the colors, and all the circles contrasting with the angular lines!

  2. September 24, 2012 at 5:00 pm

    I love this poem and so many of your paintings. So wish I lived closer. You would inspire me to start to paint – something I dropped 40 years ago! You make it seem fun, and ordinary, no big deal…which is what I need. Love the approach. Thanks for such a wonderful blog!


Leave a Reply

In conversations with the Muse I mix paint with vision, collage with story, word with meditation and prayer. And out of the mixture comes a release of energy and healing and a lightening of the load of everyday living. You'll find most of it here, where I've been showing up for the past few years, along with collectible paintings, travel sketchbooks, figure studies and an invitation to join me in art play and discovery!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Check out my book!

The Art Journal As ...
By Susan Cornelis

My Website

Archives

figure
All images and text are the original copyrighted work of Susan Cornelis unless otherwise attributed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 180 other followers

