18
Feb
12

Color Me Green

acrylic on w/c paper, 10 X 11″

Green.  The color of hospital walls, grass, jealousy, and nausea.  I hope I’m not making you sick!  Just another little self portrait in the series.  I traced a Photo Booth picture (with the comic book filter, printed out black and white from my Mac computer) and using transfer paper, copied the main lines onto a gessoed paper surface.  Lots of green and some complementary red to POP it.  I think I’m getting a bit seasick just looking at it!

7 Responses to “Color Me Green”


  1. 1 MJ
    February 18, 2012 at 4:43 pm

    Now this makes my day!!! The colors are fantastic, Susan!

  2. February 18, 2012 at 6:49 pm

    I think it’s a wonderful self-portrait, Susan. The red is just right.

  3. February 19, 2012 at 9:13 am

    This looks fabulous!!! Kind of reminds me of a self-portrait I did of myself with red hair….well, I wanted to know what I´d look like with red hair without really dying it red so I painted myself with red hair and used this same yellow green ….it remains hidden in a big pile of watercolors………maybe I should get it out??
    P.S. I never did dye my hair red…maybe it was the yellow green that did it.

  4. 4 Paula Peterson
    February 20, 2012 at 10:14 am

    WOW!! This is soooo fabulous! I love the wonderful, long fingers on your hand. I never seem to get hand gestures right. What a fun way to do a self-portrait.

  5. February 26, 2012 at 8:08 pm

    I love it ! and I love the colors! No one sick here ! :) Fabulous !


Leave a Reply

In conversations with the Muse I mix paint with vision, collage with story, word with meditation and prayer. And out of the mixture comes a release of energy and healing and a lightening of the load of everyday living. You'll find most of it here, where I've been showing up for the past few years, along with collectible paintings, travel sketchbooks, figure studies and an invitation to join me in art play and discovery!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

My Website and Workshops

Check out my book!

The Art Journal As ...
By Susan Cornelis

Archives

All images and text are the original copyrighted work of Susan Cornelis unless otherwise attributed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 189 other followers

