16
Apr
08

Sketchbooking workshop postscript

by Bettina Armstrong

This little frog sculpture stands right outside my studio door. But never has he had so much personality as when Bettina (who’s sort of a beginner with watercolor) sat down to do this 15 minute color sketch. I timed them you see, so I know how long it was. A perfect example of what happens when you devote yourself completely to your sketching subject for just a few minutes – Love happens. You delight yourself first of all, and then everyone who gets to look at what you’ve done. And this little frog musician will never be the same, and the irises will bloom their hearts out for him. Alchemy. That’s what it is.

4 Responses to “Sketchbooking workshop postscript”


  1. 1 Carol Mangels
    April 16, 2008 at 4:40 pm

    Go Bettina! Love your sketch!

  2. April 16, 2008 at 9:38 pm

    You’re right, Im also delighted by it! Great work Bettina!
    ronell

  3. 3 karen kellam
    April 17, 2008 at 10:09 am

    “draws” me into spring., right where I want to be… I love it. Keep stetching. It is you.

    Love, Karen

  4. 4 Stephanie
    April 17, 2008 at 2:59 pm

    I was really surprised. I like it and printed it out and will enlarge and frame it!


Leave a Reply

In conversations with the Muse I mix paint with vision, collage with story, word with meditation and prayer. And out of the mixture comes a release of energy and healing and a lightening of the load of everyday living. You'll find most of it here, where I've been showing up for the past few years, along with collectible paintings, travel sketchbooks, figure studies and an invitation to join me in art play and discovery!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Check out my book!

The Art Journal As ...
By Susan Cornelis

My Website

Archives

figure
All images and text are the original copyrighted work of Susan Cornelis unless otherwise attributed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 179 other followers

